Opera for Newbies

July 26, 2012 § 1 Comment

It’s hard to forget your first opera.

When I was around twelve or thirteen, one of my relatives asked me if I wanted to go with her to see Aida.  I immediately agreed, thinking I was about to spend the evening watching a production of Elton John and Tim Rice’s musical theater piece.

After we had taken our seats and the curtain rose, I was certainly in for a surprise.

Instead of this,

I was met with this:

That night definitely made quite an impression on me.  8 years later and my love for opera is still growing!  As fantastic as my first opera experience was, I still found myself mystified by what opera was and how it was all supposed to work.

If you’re new to the opera world, your first trip to the opera can seem daunting, but here at CCOT, we aim to provide an laid-back (but exciting), intimate, and accessible opera experience to everyone interested in exploring the art form.

Want to know more about buying tickets, what to wear, or where to eat before to show?  Whether you are completely new to opera, new to Center City Opera Theater, or just looking for more information, our first timers guide to opera will answer your questions and provide some helpful hints.

First, check out our “first timers” video for a quick, fun overview,

and then head over to our website for more information:

First Timers Guide to Opera

We’d love to look out into our house next season and see fresh faces mingling with our seasoned patrons, so  keep an eye on our website for details about our 2012/2013 productions!

Posted by Jacqueline Phillips

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Opera for Newbies

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Opera for Newbies at Opera Theater Insider.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

